The five-story pagoda of Hokanji Temple is viewed from a path stretching southeast, facing northwest. The pagoda, also called Yasaka Tower, was built in 1440 by Ashikaga Yoshinori and underwent major repair work in 1618. Featuring a tiled roof, it is 40m tall and 5.5m wide. The photograph must have been taken before 1908, when the fence on the fifth story was removed during major repair work. The houses around the pagoda are brothels, and the area is currently called Tatsumi-Shinchi. Taken by F. Beato.