Nagasaki University Library [Mansvelt Collection]

Japanese Version
Japanese Version

Bigo Tomotsu (2)

Catalog No. : 3221
Photographer : Uchida Kuichi
Album :
Area : Hiroshima
Date : unknown
Age division:
Color : handcolored
Size : 206x263
Cabinet : 66-2-2

Enlarged view of the photo

This is a view of Taiga Island, east of Tomo Port at Fukuyama, looking from Higashihama. Taigashima Castle was the headquarters of the Southern Court during the Southern and Northern Court Period (1336-92). During the Edo period, Enpukuji Temple was founded and a watch station was built to monitor boats coming in and out of Tomo Port. This photograph captures the boat docks with stairs behind the shop. Due to land reclamation these no longer exist.

  • <
  • 34 / 191
  • >