Nagasaki University Library [Mansvelt Collection]

Japanese Version
Japanese Version

A view of the mouth of a river,Osaka

Catalog No. : 3229
Photographer : Uchida Kuichi
Album :
Area : Osaka
Date : unknown
Age division:
Color : monochrome
Size : 206x265
Cabinet : 66-10-0

Enlarged view of the photo

Kawaguchi Wharf. The port of Osaka was opened for foreign trade on July 15, 1868. The wharf was located about four kilometers upstream from the mouth of Anji River and later had a customs office and telegraph office. The ship is a paddle steamer. The Western-style buildings visible in the distance are part of the foreign settlement. Taken around 1888.

  • <
  • 42 / 191
  • >