MENU

Nagasaki University Library [Mansvelt Collection]

Japanese Version
Japanese Version

The city of Nagasaki and Nagasaki Harbour (3)

Catalog No. : 3879
Photographer : Uchida Kuichi
Album :
Area : Nagasaki
Date : 1873
Age division: Early Meiji period (1868-1882)
Color : handcolored
Size : 207x266
Cabinet : 75-22-0

Enlarged view of the photo

Many buildings were built on the Umegasaki landfill area on the left. The Nagasaki Custom House is also visible dockside. Western-style buildings have been built by the Shinchi sea side and an embankment is in the process of being built behind the buildings. Shin-Ohashi Bridge, constructed in 1869 at the mouth of Nakashima River before redirection work, is visible. A new western-style building is constructed on Dejima across from Tsukimachi. However, neither Mii Church built in 1876 nor the bell tower of Seikokai Theology School built in 1878 is visible.Therefore, this photo must have been taken around 1872. The second prefectural office building constructed in 1876, which replaced the first one destroyed by a storm, is not visible either. There were many city residences that belonged to daimyo (feudal lords) around Goto-machi. This is a bird’s-eye view from Mt. Kazagashira of a typical view of Nagasaki around the beginning of the Meiji period with no buildings of significance.

  • <
  • 55 / 191
  • >